Retaining wall construction

The city of Kandy is like a cauldron, surrounded by big hills. The often very heavy rains bring large landslides and mudslides with it. The boy’s dorm «Navodya» is located on a slope and was supported by a retaining wall over 50 years old, adjacent to the neighboring property. This retaining wall collapsed in large parts and was badly damaged.
An outside toilet had to be demolished already as this risked to slip on the neighboring property. The retaining wall had to be completely renewed otherwise the collapse of the buildings of «Navodaya» on the neighboring plot had to be reckoned with.

Thanks to the immediate and generous support of the Gebauer Foundation, the retaining wall was built in three phases and completed by the end of October 2018. Our president, Ruedi Gauhl, regularly checked the progress of construction on site.

On behalf of the entire Board of Trustees and especially in the name of the home management of «Navodaya», we thank the Gebauer Foundation very much that we were able to implement this project thanks to them.

 

 

Broken retaining wall

1/6

Construction and completed wall

1/6

Bau Stützmauer

Die Stadt Kandy liegt wie in einem Kessel, umgeben von grossen Hügeln. Die oft sehr starken Regenfälle bringen grosse Erdrutsche und Schlammlawinen mit sich. Das Knabenwohnheim «Navodya» liegt am Hang und wurde mit einer über 50jährigen Stützmauer, angrenzend zum Nachbargrundstück, gestützt. Diese Stützmauer stürzte in weiten Teilen zusammen und war stark beschädigt.
Eine Aussentoilette musste bereits abgerissen werden da diese riskierte auf das Nachbargrundstück abzurutschen. Die Stützmauer musste gänzlich erneuert werden ansonsten mit dem Absacken der Gebäude von «Navodaya» auf das Nachbargrundstück gerechnet werden musste.

Dank der sofortigen und grosszügigen Unterstützung der Gebauer Stiftung, konnte die Stützmauer in drei Phasen gebaut und per Ende Oktober 2018 fertig gestellt werden. Unser Präsident, Ruedi Gauhl, kontrollierte den Baufortschritt regelmässig persönlich vor Ort.

Im Namen des gesamten Stiftungsrates und vorallem auch im Namen der Heimleitung von «Navodaya», danken wir der Gebauer Stiftung ganz herzlich, dass wir dieses Projekt dank ihnen umsetzen konnten.

Fotos kaputte Stützmauer

1/6

Bauphase / Fertigstellung Stützmauer

1/6

Brighter Life Foundation

Postfach

Seefeldstrasse 35
8034 Zürich - Schweiz | Switzerland

IBAN:
CH62 0900 0000 8537 2309 3

Spenden

Teilen