1/7

Disability in Sri Lanka: Ignored and (almost) forgotten

Disability, whether mental and / or physical in origin, is a large national problem in Sri Lanka. More than 9 percent of the population is affected by it! The reasons for this are complex and range from malnutrition (children’s disability), agriculture and traffic accidents, war injuries, alcohol abuse, to inbreeding. Poor hygiene and lack of medical care – especially in rural areas – exacerbate this situation. No social network for people affected exists in Sri Lanka. The Brighter Life Foundation provides therapeutic assistance and support for education of disabled people as well as prevention work in the field.

 

The Brighter Life Foundation, a Swiss-run Foundation, was founded in 2004 with the aim to assist disability charities in Sri Lanka in a responsible and sustainable way.

 

The Brighter Life Foundation intends, along with providing customized therapy for mentally and / or physically disabled people, to also enable disabled people to integrate socially through educational work in Sri Lanka.

 

Ceylon became independent within the British Commonwealth on February 4, 1948. On May 4, 1972, Ceylon became a Republic, taking the name Sri Lanka.

 

The work of the Brighter Life Foundation would not be possible without the generous support of our institutional and private donors not be possible. We thank all our donors and pledge to continue to work with professionalism and accountability.

1/7

Körperlich und geistig beeinträchtigte Menschen in Sri Lanka: Ignoriert und (fast) vergessen

Eine Beeinträchtigung, sei sie geistigen und/oder körperlichen Ursprungs, ist in Sri Lanka ein grosses, nationales Problem. Mehr als 9 Prozent der Bevölkerung sind davon betroffen! Die Gründe dafür sind vielschichtig und reichen von Unterernährung (Kinderinvalidität), Landwirtschafts- und Verkehrsunfällen, Kriegsverletzungen, Alkoholmissbrauch bis hin zu Inzucht. Die schlechten hygienischen Verhältnisse und mangelnde ärztliche Versorgung – vor allem in ländlichen Gebieten – verschlimmern die Situation.

Ein soziales Netz für die betroffenen Menschen gibt es in Sri Lanka nicht.

Die Brighter Life Foundation leistet nebst der therapeutischen Hilfe und der Hilfestellung zur Bildung der Menschen mit einer Behinderung auch Präventionsarbeit vor Ort.

Die Brighter Life Foundation, die überschaubare Schweizer Stiftung, wurde im Jahr 2004 mit dem Ziel gegründet, Behinderten-Hilfswerke in Sri Lanka verantwortungsvoll und nachhaltig zu fördern.

 

Die Brighter Life Foundation beabsichtigt nebst der massgeschneiderten Therapie für geistig und/oder körperlich behinderte Menschen auch Aufklärungsarbeit in Sri Lanka zu leisten um behinderte Menschen gesellschaftlich zu integrieren.

 

Am 4. Februar 1948 ist Ceylon innerhalb des Britischen Commonwealth unabhängig geworden. Am 22. Mai 1972 wurde Ceylon eine Republik mit dem Namen Sri Lanka (resplendent island).

 

Die Arbeit der Brighter Life Foundation wäre ohne die großzügige Unterstützung unserer institutionellen und privaten Spendern nicht möglich. Wir danken allen unseren Spendern und verpflichten uns, weiterhin mit Professionalität und Verantwortlichkeit zu arbeiten.

 

Brighter Life Foundation

Postfach

Seefeldstrasse 35
8034 Zürich - Schweiz | Switzerland

IBAN:
CH62 0900 0000 8537 2309 3

Spenden

Teilen